What Italy means to me

So, to start this post I want to add that I’m in fact NOT Italian, so anything I might tell you about Italy could be a lie made up by my oblivious mind. Okay. Way to start a post with positive feelings.

Italy means a lot to me. If I say that English is my soul, than Italian is my heart. And not just because I’ve been studying it at school for 3 years now. The Italian culture is so very diffrent from my own Lifestyle, or so I feel. It’s loud, open-hearted, flashing, emotional, friendly,… . I think I could never describe it, you’d have to find out by traveling there and living it. Last year I visited Italy two times, once at a school exchange and the other time with my grandma. Especially at the school exchange I came to love this country so very much. I had been living in the apartment of my exchange partner with her family. It was very small, stuffed with furniture but they were all so friendly. They always wanted me to eat more until I couldn’t stand straight anyomre. I didn’t once complain about the food, even though it often was too salty for my own taste. After school my exchange partner and her friends always hung out at the infamous “Piazzas”, eating ice cream or simply talking to oneanother.

This is what I really love about Italy. This easyness with wich the Italian take everything, the warmth of having your friends and family around, the breeze of the cold night air when you’re sitting at a Piazza till 2 am talking and laughing. And of course the smell of food when you return home.

I don’t own that easyness the Italian have, I wish I had it, but even if it was just for one moment, in that week I lived there I kinda feeled it. And it was awsome.

So the moral  of the story:  Live like an Italian sometimes. Just hug your friends and eat ice cream, go outside and talk until 2am under the nightsky. It’ll be worth it, I promise.

Leave a comment